Full Body 4x Wkly

Hello,

I’m curious if anyone has experience with a full body routine 4 times weekly. This would be done with one rest day between training days and would roll through the week so no M, W, F and two days off.

I would do one lift per muscle, primarily compound lifts but I would throw in some curls, shrugs and calf work.

This will primarily be done in a 5x5 rep scheme though I’m going for 3x12 with the curls, shrugs and calves and debating body weight chins and dips to failure vs. weighted.

I’ve been doing splits for a couple years but am interested in mixing it up.

I’m curious how frequency (4x per week per muscle) vs. volume (multiple lifts per muscle in a split) will play out.

I’m in my twenties for a couple more months, recover well, eat, athletic background.

I mostly find three day per week routines geared to beginners and would appreciate input from intermediate or even advanced lifters.

Thanks.

Let me know how that works out. It’d be cool if you kept a log on here. My own experiment hits each muscle group 4x a week.

The only thing that stands out about a 4x full-body routine is that many sources recommend a minimum of 72 hours recovery time per muscle group.

But I’m a beginner.

[quote]LoRez wrote:
Let me know how that works out. It’d be cool if you kept a log on here. My own experiment hits each muscle group 4x a week.

The only thing that stands out about a 4x full-body routine is that many sources recommend a minimum of 72 hours recovery time per muscle group.

But I’m a beginner.[/quote]

I think 72 hours will be pretty excessive for one lift per muscle group. Usually on a split I’ll hit each group two to three times and have 72 hours between. This will include significantly less volume though.

I’m not a beginner and am hoping for discussion on frequency vs. volume from experienced lifters.

Hopefully this placement will be informative for others too.

[quote]LoRez wrote:
[/quote]

Lol, I’d die of boredom.

OP - it’s doable.