Damnit! If only I had a second chance...

The other day my folks made me watch that stupid movie, “The Replacements”. Although the film sucked, the part about how Keanu Reeves got a second chance to be a quarterback got me thinking about something. My last two years in high school I did track in the spring. My events were shotput and discus. I loved sports more than anything else I did in high school, but I was dissatisfied with myself at the end of my senior season. I didn’t do much productive training in the offseason. I wasn’t very good, and never achieved any of the marks I had wanted to. Well, when my last season ended I found about T-mag and became addicted to it.

Since last spring I’ve become a hell of a lot stronger now that I know the right way to train. Since this is my first year in college, my competition days in track are obviously over. But when I see how much progress I’ve made and how much better I could have been, just thinking about it now pisses me off to no end. Sometimes I feel as if I’d give my right hand just to have one more season to tear that discus field another a-hole. Anybody out there have a similar experience with a sport or something else, where they’d do anything to have a second chance to do it right?

Uh… Ever hear the term “walk-on”? If you want to train with the team, and are good enough, they’ll field you in events. Talk with the coach. You may not have lost that chance.

You must be about 18 now John. I agree. Your life is about over. Now that we have gotten that out of the way, do what Brider says and get your azz over to Coach’s office and stop whining about lost opportunities. I want to hear some good stuff about you next year.