Another Myth DeBunked?

Okay guys. I thought this one had gone away, but some myths die hard. Chris S. states in the “Diet Manifesto” that in order to gain lean body mass, you will gain some fat. Agree 200%.

But isn’t the operative word here “some?” Based on some of my e-mails the habits of some “Upper Level” Body builders, some seriouly believe that you have to become a 250-300 pound lardass OR gain 30-50 pounds above your “baseline” to gain any appreciable lean mass…and many hold fast to this idea! Please…your thoughts, guys?

This is always an interesting topic. I think that total beginners may be able to add muscle and lose fat at the same time. After all, coming from a state of atrophy/sloth the muscle just has to respond to training. With a clean diet, they can lose fat too.

But I think the more experienced we become, the harder that gets. After years of training, one can expect to gain some fat to add muscle. And a experienced person isn’t going to add much muscle on a low carb diet. (That said, I get a lot of feedback on my T-Dawg diet where people say they gained muscle although it’s a fairly low carb fat loss diet. Maybe it’s the increased fat intake that helped them? Maybe they’re just newbies? Maybe they were using drugs? Not sure, but I hear that daily.) You’re right in that the pros probably just take it too far, as they do with everything else.

But all that said, you may want to check out Part II to the Don Alessi interview that will be posted on T-mag Friday. He claims that with the right kind of training, one can lose fat and gain muscle at the same time, drug-free. He makes a pretty convincing argument too. Check it out and see what you think.