Weighted Punching

Once a week my brother performs weighted punching for about 30 minutes I think. He’s worked his way up to 30lb db’s (he is 6’ ~170). I know this isn’t a very efficient way to train (I’m still trying to convince him to try something other than crunches) but I’m wondering what effect this has on the shoulders. He does no other shoulder work and logic tells me he can be really messing up his shoulders. Any opinions?

I hope he doesn’t do this in the hopes of increasing his punching power or speed. It is actually detrimental to punching. Charles Staley addressed this in his book, The Science of Martial Arts Training.

If that’s his goal, he’s better off with the bench press and other exercises.

As for a shoulder workout, there are more effective things to do. This sounds like what they used to do in those aerobic classes with small pink dumbbells.

Yes, that is pretty much what he is trying to accomplish. He is doing some type of self-taught martial arts training by reading everything he can get his hands on. Problem is he has read nothing about training. I have tried to tell him there are much more effective ways to make him more powerful even without weights. Thanks for the info, now I’ve got some ammo to hopefully convince him to start training more effectively.

i would think that going up to 30lbs and punching as hard as he can may cause some damage to the shoulder and elbow. from what i’ve heard if you want to do that you do it with a few lbs and not heavier, but as nate dogg said, there are much better ways to train this

I’ve never tried 30 pounds, but 10-15 pounds gives you one hell of a workout while still being light enough to not damage your shoulders. Just go for small punches.

I always think about the weighted punching argument pros and cons in my head. Actually I was pondering it just this morning. I ve discussed this issue with quite a few people as well.