Bulking in Phases or Non-Stop?

Hey guys, I’ve been bulking a bit and gained 10 lbs and shooting for a total of 30lbs for this year. I’m thinking about breaking it up into phases where after I gain 15lbs I drop my calories to maintenance for a couple of weeks then get back to being in a surplus.
Does anyone have a preference for bulking till you hit your weight or breaking it into phases by adding micro-diet weeks? Curious about your thoughts! Thanks!

30lbs ? Unless your a complete novice…
Underweight for your height along with being extremely under feed

And or a teenager going through puberty

Or regaining established bodyweight from a insane diet or a extended layoff from any type of training

You may want to rethink gaining 30lbs in a year.

1 Like

I think that’s a good idea.

Take a little break from the Gaining to allow your body to adjust to the new bodyweight. And to make sure you’re not getting too sloppy.

I just got finished with my 30 pounds of continuous bulking and I ended up a little fatter than I would have liked. So I cut down ten pounds.

+15pounds, then down 5, and then another +15 then down 5 would have gotten me to the same spot. Probably faster.

Yea, that’s the approach I’m also thinking. I’m prepping for a BB contest for next Sept/Oct. So my goal is hit my weight goal (another 20 lbs left) but I’m not in a rush. I’d like to get to my weight at a steady pace, then stay there for a couple months before having to diet for my contest. Thanks for helpful feedback!
Wish everyone would put some thought into their comments!

Hey, Coach,
I’m almost 7 weeks into your 12-week High-Frequency Muscle Building program and I’ve been feeling great, getting stronger, and gaining weight, thank you!
My question is when bulking for an extended period of time 3-6+ months , do you prefer to add mini-cuts (mini-diet) breaks in between, let’s say every 10 lbs i gain, i do a 2-week mini cut or just hit maintenance?