Any Workouts that Help Discus Throwers?

I’m a freshman in high school. IM 6’0 285lbs and my bench is 240 power clean is around 190 I squat 405 and deadlift close to 500. I’m throwing around 110 and Id really like to throw for varsity. Preseason has not yet started so I’m looking to get a head start. Any suggestions?

** I am not a thrower or a track athlete **

That being said, I know Dan John was/(is?) a thrower and has written a lot about strength training. I would check out some of his stuff.

Two words: Dan John.

[quote]Roran wrote:
I know Dan John was/(is?) a thrower and has written a lot about strength training. I would check out some of his stuff. [/quote]
Very very yes. I believe he still competes occasionally, and he’s coached tons of high school athletes. The Southwood Program would be the place to start.
http://www.T-Nation.com/article/performance_training/lessons_from_southwood

I’d also suggest reading this, to get your priorities in line:

You’re definitely a big kid and off to a great start, but having a 500 deadlift, a 240 bench, and only a 190 power clean is an indicator that something’s “off” with your training. What are you overhead pressing?

[quote]Chris Colucci wrote:
You’re definitely a big kid and off to a great start, but having a 500 deadlift, a 240 bench, and only a 190 power clean is an indicator that something’s “off” with your training. What are you overhead pressing?[/quote]

Super sleuth strikes again, didn’t even notice this. I can’t even begin to understand how you can deadlift 500lbs and only powerclean 190lbs.

Matt Vincent’s stuff is also “thrower centric.” He’s more focused on Highland Games, but he was a college thrower and knows his stuff.

Thanks. I am hungry for the school record which is 196’2

170lbs

[quote]LANESMITH114 wrote:
170lbs[/quote]
I’m guessing that’s your overhead press?